|
-
webname solution scam?
I received an offer to purchase a domain from webname solution via an unsolicited email and I took them up on it.
My problem is not the price. I think the domain in question may be worth the $199.95 they are asking. I can't help it but wonder however: Was the domain in question theirs to sell in the first place?
Or am I going to find out in a few days that I am $199.95 short and no domain to show for it?
I received the unsolicited email offer March 1st and paid webnamesolution on the same day via a form on their web site. At that time, WHOIS showed the domain owner was some guy who lives in the same metro area as me, and domain status was PENDINGDELETE. Apparently, this domain used to be his but he let it lapse.
But on March 5, the WHOIS data reflect eNom, Inc., as the contact, whitesocksdomains.com as the registrar, and the domain is parked, apparenlty using eNom's servers.
And today, March 6, the WHOIS data reflect eNom, Inc. as the registrar (no more whitesocksdomains.com) and the domain is REGISTRAR-LOCK with no nameservers (not parked any more).
What the HELL is going on?
My credit card has already been pre-authorized for the amount I agreed to pay webnamesolution.com. I'm afraid I have been scammed, since webname solution appears to never have owned the domain to begin with. Is it a fly-by-night operation? How can I get my money back?
-
They seems to go in spells - how they contact me.
However, I know everytime I receive something from them
they are wrong or "conning" me.
I have had them offer me
1. A domain that is registered to someone else and current.
2. A domain that is not registered.
3. A domain that is going to drop the next day.
When dealing with this company, I would suggest you thoroughly
check the facts before giving them any money.
-
I have had several approaches from these people .. offering to sell me names for that exact price $199.95
Each time the name has been a pending delete name .. one in particular was in a godaddy auction with a $10 start bid .. i actualy went there and started to sign up to bid for the name, then i discovered that the auction requires a sign up fee before i could bid .. so i dropped off and left it alone .. then i get the approach from web name solution offering me the name for $199.95 .. they didnt own the damn name in the first place .. later it dropped after what seemed to be an extra long period of time ... The moral is dont buy anything without doing your home work first .. and why dont you do a charge back on your credit card .. you have been robbed ..
-
I got an offer from them this morning for Hoyas.com - $ 199.
However, I know it is in auction at Enom.
Present high bid is $ 540. with 2 more days to go.
-
Just got an offer from Webnames Solutions for a domain that (1) they don't own and (2) doesn't expire until summer 2007. Same price as cited elsewhere in this thread, $199.95.
-
-
Beware, these tricksters are still working their game.
My advice: Stay away.
"Just when I thought that I was out, they pull me back in!"
-
Hi,
As another member said, do your homework and research before committing to anything.
I received an offer similar to the ones above a couple of days ago (Can't remember if it was from them or another company) and on checking the domain name it was PENDING DELETE and belonged to someone else.
You can't really fault the concept: offering to sell domain names you may be interested in and buying them when they become available. However a bit more transparency is required...
Regards,
Max
Occurrences in this domain are beyond the reach of exact prediction because of the variety of factors in operation, not because of any lack of order in nature.(Albert Einstein)
-
 Originally Posted by maxime
You can't really fault the concept: offering to sell domain names you may be interested in and buying them when they become available. However a bit more transparency is required...
Is that what they're doing? I thought they were taking your $199.95 with absolutely no intention of going for the domains - ie plain theft. It makes you wonder whether it's worth doing business legally anymore - seems much easier to set up a site and just steal money with apparently no repercussions.
-
 Originally Posted by Rob
Is that what they're doing? I thought they were taking your $199.95 with absolutely no intention of going for the domains - ie plain theft.
Hi Rob,
Well, it's difficult to guess the intention of anyone. What I was saying is that the idea is not that bad to start with.
Regards,
Max
Occurrences in this domain are beyond the reach of exact prediction because of the variety of factors in operation, not because of any lack of order in nature.(Albert Einstein)
-
Offered me my own domain
I received a message this morning offering to sell me a domain name I already own - and the registration doesn't expire for another THREE years! Definitely a scam - stay away.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules
|
|
|