|
-
The appraisal scam is running again
///mod:
to keep people up to date, we will include other threads relating to these people here at the top of the thread:
http://www.domainstate.com/showthrea...threadid=18281
///
A few days ago I got an email from a person using rock.com in his email address and in his signature, telling me he was interested in purchasing the domain Concertguide.info
All looked okay, after all that would be a nice domain name for a company in that branch, wouldn't it?
So I replied with my price, and a few hours later he came back with the good old scam line that he was interested but he'd need an appraisal from either Greatdomains, Domainsultan or Hollywooddomains, as those were appraisers he trusted.
For those who haven't met this one before: this guy is just trying to sell appraisals through his own websites, don't expect he'll ever buy anything from you. He's been around for quite a while, he used to work from www.everydayincome.com
Luckily I've been around for a while too so I immediately recognised him. Just to tease him I replied with "Let's make a contract first stating that you'll buy the domain if the price is confirmed by the appraisal."
His answer: "We don't need a contract, we'll use Escrow." Yeah sure.
Hans
Last edited by safesys; 01-02-2004 at 02:03 AM.
-
Hi Hans,
Thanks for letting us know about that - can you post the full email so people can see the format to help them recognise it when they get it.
Regards
Paul
When using google for counts - use double quotes for usage counts for multiword terms and set "match type" to "exact" for all search volume lookups. Click here for more info
-
Here it is. The domain name is only mentioned in the subject, not in the actual text. Makes it easier to generate hundreds of these message I guess.
***********************************
Subject: Interested in purchasing ConcertGuide.info
Hi there,
After doing a keyword search on Google.com I have found your domain for sale. I prefer to make all deals direct without domain brokers so I've decided to contact you via email. (I've found your email address via WHO IS).
Is this domain still available for sale? I'm interested in purchasing.
If it's still available for sale please email me your asking price.
If you have other good domains for sale feel free to email me the full list with asking prices.
If I can afford your domain I'll contact you. Please don't send me multiple emails if you don't receive a reply from me and keep my email address confidential.
Just email me your asking price. If I decide to buy I'll contact you as soon as possible.
I can send you money via PayPal. If you don't have a PayPal account I can send you the funds by a certified check.
Best Regards,
Andrew Chapman
http://www.Rock.com
________________________________________________
You Rock! So should your E-mail. Sign up at Rock.com!
-
And this is his second mail, in response to my offer. And sorry you guys here at DS, he doesn't trust free appraisals 
***********************************
ConcertGuide.info would be the best option but I don't want to overpay. Do you have an appraisal certificate for your name? I need an independent and professional valuation. Please note that I don't trust free or unprofessional appraisals. I don't want to overpay. It can be an appraisal certificate from www.greatdomains.com or www.domainsultan.com or hollywooddomains.com. It does not matter because I trust all these companies.
After I receive your appraisal I can send you money via PayPal then.
If you wish we can use escrow.com to secure the transaction.
Looking forward to your reply.
Best Regards,
Andrew Chapman
http://www.Rock.com
-
Rock.com has free email, so it's likely not the owner of rock.com.....might want to let them know about the emails.
George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269
-
-
Please note that I don't trust free or unprofessional appraisals.
yeah.. hah hah... anyone who does something for free should not be trusted... 
anyone who you pay to do something can be trusted...
for example, if you pay a stock analyst to analyze a stock or a mutual fund manager to manage your money... then you can trust them to be objective....
but if you have a bunch of experienced people in the field who use their experience and judgment to evaluate for free... man.. watch out!!!!!!!!!!!
-
I got one a few months back, for MixMania.com....
It's clearly against their terms of service, so if we all forward our received emails, perhaps they can do something?
At least, suspend the accounts.
From: "A Griffin" <antgriffin@rock.com>
To: <info@synergy-records.co.uk>
Sent: Sunday, October 05, 2003 7:56 PM
Subject: Interested in purchasing MIXMANIA.com
>
> Hi there,
>
> After doing a keyword search on Google.com I have found your domain for sale.
> I prefer to make all deals direct without domain brokers so I've decided to contact you via email.
> (I've found your email address via WHO IS)
>
> Is this domain still available for sale ? I'm interested in purchasing.
>
> If it's still available for sale please email me your asking price.
>
> If you have other good domains for sale feel free to email me the full list with asking prices.
>
> If I can afford your domain I'll contact you. Please don't send me multiple emails if you don't receive a reply from me and keep my email address confidential.
> Just email me your asking price. If I decide to buy I'll contact you as soon as possible.
>
> I can send you money via PayPal. If you don't have a PayPal account I can send you the funds by a certified check.
>
> Best Regards,
>
> Anthony Griffin
>
> http://www.Rock.com
>
Last edited by devolution; 11-17-2003 at 06:10 AM.
-
-
So is this Andrew Chapman guy affiliated with greatdomains and the others? I dont see any affiliate links. Or maybe the last 2 are his and he throws greatdomains in there just to sound good?
I wish buyers like this were real. If I could sell all my domains for the appraisals greatdomains would give them I could buy an island or two and a good chunk of the United States =) No joke either.
Your domains are never completely worthless. They can always be used as a bad example.
-
I think the idea he has is you will check how much an evaluation will cost at each of his recommended sites and his price is the lowest so it's a good bet you will use his site.
-
I just had one for LimeBar.com, I think Matty is right people will go for the cheapest option, which I guess this anthony Griffin (or whatever he is calling himself).
What actually happens if you do send him an appraisal, say from GreatDomains?
Is there any 'legal' way we can get back at him/them?
-
What actually happens if you do send him an appraisal, say from GreatDomains?
People tried in the past, then he gets back to you offering to broker the name on his website. For a huge commission, he used to ask 50%.
-
Tell him to get the appraisal himself and you will deduct the cost of it off the sale price. He probably won't bother you again. And if he tries to low ball you on the appraisal value, and charge high for the appraisal, laugh at him. Trust me he won't waste his time.
-
I just emailed this dude and told him I heard he just bought "ConcertGuide.info", and I would pay him $5,000 for the name if he could close the deal in 2 days.
Expect excited email from him revealing his true identity.
Last edited by JuniperPark; 11-18-2003 at 07:55 AM.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules
|
|
|