|
-
SCAM email, "ICANN - Domain Upgrade Notice"
Just got a Scam email which , I know no one here can fall for it but I thought I will post it anyway , The Scammers are targeting domain owners acting the email are coming from ICANN.
Here is the email,
Dear Domain Account Holder,
You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you
currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all
domains from their registry database.
The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier
access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are
expected to submit their domain information manually at
http://www.icannresolve.com/email/li...11&N=5&L=1&F=T with the
required information for ICANN to apply the required updates.
The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve
basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to
avoid service and domain interruption.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
ICANNResolve
ICANN.org Resolutions Department
.................................................................
THAT IS SCAM
Last edited by 1112; 06-23-2008 at 02:47 PM.
-
What in the world did that page request?
They just trying to harvest login info?
ie what is the scam exactly?
-
Yes, they wanted your Registrar name, Registrar username and password for each of your domains too!
Someone has yanked their web page down now, just showing as Namecheap.com parked page now, but it did collect domain login info and "looked official" being a somewhat mirror of the Icann.org site.
Last edited by woeger; 06-23-2008 at 02:45 PM.
-
Page seems to be broken, but I got one too...
I'm ready to fry his @ss too.
Hope he enjoys the RMCP banging on his door.
-
This really does hurt us all.
When I think of what a person registering their first domain name might have to deal with I really feel sorry for them.
-
I contacted Namecheap and forward them the Scam email I received, May be they decided to pull them down
-
ICANN has the email, so does the president of Name Cheap, so does the webhost.
I have the idiot's home IP address too, which is not on the email... muhahhaaaaaa... there's a reason I said "RMCP", 'cause he is in Toronto.
-
I doubt the scammer is using their own computer to send out these phishing emails. More than likely the emails are being sent from the computer of some clueless person with a backdoor trojan.
.
-
the guy IS in Toronto.
Believe it. Or not.
-
If that's really true, then we can send GeorgeK over there to kick some butt.
.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules
|
|
|