+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 63
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Wales (UK)
    Posts
    24,746

    Hoax DomainState/Netsol emails

    further to our original warning about the appraisal scammer here:

    http://www.domainstate.com/showthrea...threadid=15635

    ---


    Seems our friendly russian appraisal scammer has resorted to seding out emails pretending to be from some special domainstate/netsol/verisign registration service thing. The headers on the email shows it is originating in russia and using a free yahoo email account.

    heres the email in all its amateur glory:

    From domainstate_register@yahoo.com Fri Jan 23 11:42:08 2004
    Return-path: <domainstate_register@yahoo.com>
    Envelope-to: whoever@whoever.com
    Delivery-date: Fri, 23 Jan 2004 11:42:08 -0800
    Received: from [195.34.32.123] (helo=hueymiccailhuitl.mtu.ru)
    by -------- with esmtp (Exim 4.24)
    id 1Ak7Bv-0007dK-PR
    for whoever@whoever.com; Fri, 23 Jan 2004 11:42:07 -0800
    Received: from greatalfa (ppp129-39.dialup.mtu-net.ru [62.118.129.39])
    by hueymiccailhuitl.mtu.ru (Postfix) with SMTP id EFFF11305D7
    for <whoever@whoever.com>; Fri, 23 Jan 2004 22:41:59 +0300 (MSK)
    (envelope-from domainstate_register@yahoo.com)
    From: Domain State <domainstate_register@yahoo.com>
    To: whoever@whoever.com
    Subject: Last warning from DomainState.com
    X-Mailer: NetMasters SMTP Demo
    Mime-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
    Message-Id: <20040123194159.EFFF11305D7@hueymiccailhuitl.mtu.ru>
    Date: Fri, 23 Jan 2004 22:41:59 +0300 (MSK)
    Status: R Simple headers

    TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

    Dear NetSol.com / http://www.DomainState.com Customer,

    We must inform you that someone is trying to register .net and .org version of your .com name.

    As the owner you should act right now and regiter .net and .org domains yourself at
    http://www.DomainState.com (NetSol.com authorized us to send this letter)

    If you want to process your order faster please fax us a picture of your credit card (both sides) and your signature.

    Our fax number: +44.1974 261364

    If you don't respond within 24 hours we'll charge your credit card ourselves in order to protect your network idedtity.

    We also invite you to join our domain forum at
    http://www.DomainState.com

    Kindest Regards,

    www.DomainState.com registration service (special division of Network Solutions Inc.)

    http://www.DomainState.com

    DomainState.com is a registered trade mark of Veri Sign Inc.
    Thanks to everyone who notified us about this latest stunt by our friends at scamcentral
    Last edited by safesys; 02-05-2004 at 03:15 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    0
    Is this from the same people? Not knowing who domainstate.com it came as a bit of a suprise! Especially as it came to an unpublished, internal email address.

    --------------------------------------------------------


    TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

    Dear Friend,

    We must inform you that someone is trying to steal your name.

    As the owner you should act right now and join us at http://www.DomainState.com

    If you want to process your order faster please fax us a picture of your credit card (both sides) and your signature.

    Our fax number: +44.1974 261364

    If you don't send us a fax we'll send this letter every 5 hours.

    We also invite you to join our domain forum at http://www.DomainState.com

    Kindest Regards,

    http://www.DomainState.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    0
    oh and here is the header :

    Microsoft Mail Internet Headers Version 2.0
    Received: from xxxxxxx) by xxxxxx with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6713);
    Fri, 23 Jan 2004 22:25:22 +0000
    Received: from hueymiccailhuitl.mtu.ru [195.34.32.123] by 111-mail-domain.com
    (SMTPD32-8.01) id AF1E1D200B6; Fri, 23 Jan 2004 16:24:30 -0600
    Received: from greatalfa (ppp133-203.dialup.mtu-net.ru [62.118.133.203])
    by hueymiccailhuitl.mtu.ru (Postfix) with SMTP id CCACD1321C2
    for <xxxxxxx>; Sat, 24 Jan 2004 01:24:22 +0300 (MSK)
    (envelope-from domainstate1982@yahoo.co.uk)
    From: Domain State <domainstate1982@yahoo.co.uk>
    To: xxxxxxxx
    Subject: [domain-hosting] Your domain was highjacked.
    X-Mailer: NetMasters SMTP Demo
    Mime-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
    Message-Id: <20040123222422.CCACD1321C2@hueymiccailhuitl.mtu.ru>
    Date: Sat, 24 Jan 2004 01:24:22 +0300 (MSK)
    Precedence: bulk
    Sender: xxxxxxxxx
    Status: U
    X-UIDL: 349141582
    Return-Path: domainstate1982@yahoo.co.uk
    X-OriginalArrivalTime: 23 Jan 2004 22:25:22.0623 (UTC) FILETIME=[CA7744F0:01C3E1FF]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Wales (UK)
    Posts
    24,746
    yes its the same people.

    As for your email address, I would imagine they're using their existing domain mailing list, so if you've ever used their free mailout service under one of their various guises or been contacted by them in the past as part of their appraisal scam then thats how they can get your details.
    When using google for counts - use double quotes for usage counts for multiword terms and set "match type" to "exact" for all search volume lookups. Click here for more info

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ashland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,843

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Wales (UK)
    Posts
    24,746
    a quick check of the whois will show that the fax number is that of domainstate.com - this is purely a nuisance mail in retaliation for our warning members about their appraisal scam - not an attempt to defraud from the mail itself.
    When using google for counts - use double quotes for usage counts for multiword terms and set "match type" to "exact" for all search volume lookups. Click here for more info

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    14,877
    Took me a while to refind this link, but this is the best explanation I've ever read about this form of attack,

    http://boxedart.com/services/spamattack.php

    The is basically what is being done to DomainState and could easily be done to *ANY* of us.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Wales (UK)
    Posts
    24,746
    at least it shows the scammers have been affected enough by our carrying warnings about them that they have resorted to desperate measures.
    When using google for counts - use double quotes for usage counts for multiword terms and set "match type" to "exact" for all search volume lookups. Click here for more info

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    14,877
    Originally posted by safesys
    at least it shows the scammers have been affected enough by our carrying warnings about them that they have resorted to desperate measures.

    As well as the fact that DomainState has the balls to stand up to such people.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Domain Orphanage
    Posts
    371
    Trust me they are sending other types of emails to other names. The mails will reference Domainstate and cause some kind of concern for the recipient. They are trying to get spam complaints against DS so your host will shut you down. Be proactive and let your host/dedicted server provider know, if you havn't already.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Of Never
    Posts
    3,653
    Originally posted by ILikeInfo
    As well as the fact that DomainState has the balls to stand up to such people.
    Agreed!


    Karen
    "Few are those who see with their own eyes,and feel with their own hearts"-Albert Einstein

  12. #12
    mole is offline Account closed at moles request.
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    3,457
    hey ruskie! take me down noballs@spamex.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Gold Coast, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    6,986
    Originally posted by mole
    hey ruskie! take me down noballs@spamex.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,938
    Some jealous guy who cant make money in domains...heck what else is he to do? Hes a nobody. He probably cant hold a job at McDonalds. Give him a break guys.
    Your domains are never completely worthless. They can always be used as a bad example.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Gold Coast, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    6,986
    Originally posted by Chad
    He probably cant hold a job at McDonalds. .
    McDonalds in Russia? I thought it was McIgor or McBoris.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  

Sponsors

   
 
DomainState.com
Advertise   |   Contact Us   |   Domain Glossary   |   Domain Links   |   Domain Tools   |   FAQ   |   Members   |   Terms   |   RSS   |   Link To Us
Other Related Trellian Services:
Above Domain Parking Manager   |   Free Search Toolbar   |   Free Webpage Builder   |   Keyword Research   |   Search Engine Submission   |   SEO Tools
Copyright © 2002    DomainState.com a Trellian Company