+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Bangalore, India.
    Posts
    70

    DotRegistrar.com - Worst Registrar

    My client had a name residing at Dotregistrar.com
    Creation Date: 19-feb-2002
    Expiration Date: 19-feb-2009

    Last week Dotregistrar DELETED the domain from my customer's account and changed nameservers of the domain to THEIR OWN NAMESERVERS!
    When we got in touch with them to check if the domain was stolen/hijacked, this is what they said:

    ***
    "I'm afraid ********.com wasn't stolen but cancelled due to inaccurate whois information. For this reason, you won't be able to manage this name again, nor request any changes to be made to it.
    Please wait until ********.com becomes available for registration again and re register it then if you wish to have this name again."

    Trevor Garrett
    Customer Service Manager
    support@dotregistrar.com
    ***

    I wrote back to them informing them that they have screwed-up. The whois is information is ACCURATE and it can be proved/verified.
    Numerous emails have been sent to Dotregistrar since but NO REPLY has been received.
    Nobody picks up the phone as well.

    The domain in question was an active website receieving 2,000 unique visitors a day (A portal offering free email, news, jobs etc.)
    Dotregistrar's stupidity has resulted in the website going offline AND ALL TRAFFIC GOING TO DOTREGISTRAR'S parking page (where they generate PPC revenue)
    Also, since the domain registration is valid till 2009, it is still not available for registration... so MY CLIENT IS STUCK!

    I tried transferring the domain to another registrar... but that failed too.
    Anybody here can offer some advice on how to deal with the issue and claim damages from the Dotregistrar scumbags.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    162
    pm the name to me. maybe i can help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Gold Coast, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    6,986
    Just noticed this name..

    Domain Name: TIMEMAIL.COM
    Registrar: IHOLDINGS.COM, INC. D/B/A DOTREGISTRAR.COM
    Whois Server: whois.dotregistrar.com
    Referral URL: http://www.dotregistrar.com
    Name Server: NS1.DR-PARKINGSERVICES.COM
    Name Server: NS2.DR-PARKINGSERVICES.COM
    Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
    Updated Date: 24-aug-2005
    Creation Date: 19-feb-2002
    Expiration Date: 19-feb-2009

    CANCELLED DUE TO INACCURATE WHOIS INFORMATION

    Registrant:
    Sonamail (TIMEMAIL-COM-DOM)
    P.O. Box 122515
    Jeddah, N.A. 21332
    Saudi Arabia
    966-2652-6409
    president@sonamail.com

    Domain Name: TIMEMAIL.COM
    Status: PROTECTED

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Wales (UK)
    Posts
    24,746
    That's pretty scary stuff.
    When using google for counts - use double quotes for usage counts for multiword terms and set "match type" to "exact" for all search volume lookups. Click here for more info

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    3,831
    Make a complaint with ICANN's registrar liason officer.

    And post a complaint to the GNSO mailing list.

    Shame them.
    Captain Stupid.
    Jimmy James Inc. fan club membership # 3312

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    1,175
    Hmmm, the domain's still there, so it probably means dotregistrar
    is still in the process of getting it deleted.

    The problem here is that if Dotregistrar has indeed tried to verify
    the WHOIS information by all means possible and still didn't get a
    reply after some time, then they've every right to delete it based
    on their service agreements.

    Your only chance is to persist with Dotregistrar first. I'll bet even
    money Dotregistrar has kept "proof" that they weren't able to get
    any response from the domain's WHOIS at all.

    Then take it up with ICANN. But don't expect this to be resolved
    overnight because complex issues like these...

    ...are never resolved just with a magic wand.
    Vidi, Vici, Veni!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Midwest Usa
    Posts
    738
    They wont delete it. They have a habit of taking thier clients names, expiured etc, and offering them for sale through domaincollection. Also, This company, iHoldings, has recently been acquired by Dotster.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    376
    one of the sore spots i think is the lack of guidelines and diligence required by the register to verify the whois information

    the way i took it was they could open the door yell loud and if you dont answer take the name

    this is super scary issue and its somthing i have been expecting for a long time

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    DotRegistrar.com - Worst Registrar

    ddi you finally recover your name???

    i am going thru a similar situation. the company that register the name was a reseller. the reseller is out of business but changed the domain information to their name. I contacted dotregistar and they said the would not change any information and dot registrar said i should contact icann. i filre a complaint with icann and i have not heard from them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  

Sponsors

DomainState.com
Advertise   |   Contact Us   |   Domain Glossary   |   Domain Links   |   Domain Tools   |   FAQ   |   Members   |   Terms   |   RSS   |   Link To Us
Other Related Trellian Services:
Above Domain Parking Manager   |   Free Search Toolbar   |   Free Webpage Builder   |   Keyword Research   |   Search Engine Submission   |   SEO Tools
Copyright © 2002 - 2011 DomainState.com a Trellian Company