+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3
FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 39 of 39
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tumwater, WA
    Posts
    430
    Changed identity again, it appears, unless this has already been discussed on another thread.

    You know, maybe if he/she/it changed the blaring boilerplate - "Buying and selling domain names is not my main business. Just another way to invest money and make additional income" - it'd be more difficult to spot this clown.

    Hello,

    Did you get offers from other people already?

    What is your price for the domain mentioned in the subject line?

    I'm very interested in this name.

    I run a software company. We develop client-server systems and databases in MS SQL and Delphi. Buying and selling domain names is not my main business. Just another way to invest money and make additional income.

    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Best regards,
    Thomas Blindheim Ph.D.
    CEO
    Opera Engineering

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    66
    Also goes by "Dr. Hansen."

    This appears to be an automated thing:

    Date: Saturday, April 8, 2006 11:15 AM
    From: DST Solutions Norway <hansen@disponent.com> Add to Addresses
    To: **** Add to Addresses
    Subject: ***.org (sent 04-08-06)
    Size: 2 KB


    Hello,

    Did you get offers from other people already?

    What is your price for the domain mentioned in the subject line?

    I'm very interested in this name.

    I run a software company. We develop client-server systems and databases in MS
    SQL and Delphi. Buying and selling domain names is not my main business. Just
    another way to invest money and make additional income.

    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Best regards,
    Paul Hansen Ph.D.
    CEO
    DST Solutions Norway


    > Hello Paul,
    >
    > Thank you for expressing interest in the domain name ***.org. I am
    willing to consider offers for the name, but as it is a recent acquisition I
    haven't yet determined its potential.
    >
    > No other offers have been received.
    >
    > Regards,
    > CLIPPER




    How about 4,000 USD? Ok?

    Do you have an appraisal certificate?

    Domain name is an investment for me. In other words I'm going to sell your
    name later and make a profit. If I overpay I won't be able to make a profit
    in the future. It's very important for you and me to know the current market
    value of your domain.

    Of course, we must be sure that you are engaging a reputable appraisal
    company. I heard many appraisal companies often made inaccurate appraisals.
    I will only accept appraisals from independent sources I trust.

    If the appraisal comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly.
    I also hope you can give me 10% - 15% discount of the appraised value
    because I need a room to make profit.

    After I get an appraisal from you we'll continue our negotiations.

    To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies
    in a forum
    http://domaintalk.ourplace.com/Archive/69047.htm

    How do you prefer to get paid: www.PayPal.com, www.escrow.com, check or
    wire?

    Hope we can come to an agreement fast.


    Looking forward to your reply.
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: <****>
    To: "DST Solutions Norway" <hansen@disponent.com>
    Sent: Monday, April 10, 2006 5:42 PM
    Subject: Re: ***.org (sent 04-08-06)

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles / NYC
    Posts
    2,998
    This guy must have really low self esteem to constantly use phony names with Ph.D. and Dr.
    .

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tumwater, WA
    Posts
    430
    Not to mention the brain power it takes to send a solicitation on a name in which the sales listing hadn't received any views yet.

    Which, in all seriousness, makes me question exactly how easily they can get this information as I've only listed a couple names in one location. (rhymes with heedo).

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    6,801
    Indeed I only ever get these for names recently added to sedo.
    twitter.com/ben218

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    66
    To the Kids at DomainState:

    Thanks for this thread/forum. As soon as I got that email I knew where to go.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    128
    I received this sequence of emails from the scammer:

    Immediately below is his reply to my "make an offer" request following his initial domain inquiry shown further below.


    From: "Hansen" <hansen@disponent.com>
    To: xxxx
    Sent: Tuesday, April 11, 2006 11:19 AM
    Subject: Re: undisclosed_domain.com (sent 04/10/06)

    How about 5,000 USD? Ok?

    Did you use escrow.com before? I think this is the safest place for
    domain/money transfer.

    Do you have an appraisal certificate?

    Domain name is an investment for me. In other words I'm going to sell your
    name later and make a profit. If I overpay I won't be able to make a profit
    in the future. It's very important for you and me to know the current market
    value of your domain.

    Of course, we must be sure that you are engaging a reputable appraisal
    company. I heard many appraisal companies often made inaccurate appraisals.
    I will only accept appraisals from independent sources I know and trust.

    To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies
    in a forum
    http://domaintalk.ourplace.com/Archive/69047.htm

    Juck check this posting.

    If the appraisal comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly.
    I also hope you can give me 10% - 15% discount of the appraised value.

    After I get an appraisal from you we'll continue our negotiations.

    How do you prefer to get paid: www.escrow.com, www.PayPal.com check or
    wire?

    Hope we can come to an agreement fast.

    Looking forward to your reply.


    ----- Original Message -----
    From: xxxx
    To: "DIT Solutions" <hansen@disponent.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, April 11, 2006 6:31 PM
    Subject: Re: undisclosed_domain.com (sent 04/10/06)


    [my reply]
    >
    >
    > ----- Original Message -----
    > From: "DIT Solutions" <hansen@disponent.com>
    > To: xxxx
    > Sent: Monday, April 10, 2006 4:34 AM
    > Subject: undisclosed_domain.com (sent 04/10/06)
    >
    >
    > >
    > > Hello,
    > >
    > > Did you get offers from other people already?
    > >
    > > What is your price for the domain mentioned in the subject line?
    > >
    > > I'm very interested in this name.
    > >
    > > I run a software company. We develop client-server systems and databases
    > > in MS SQL and Delphi. Buying and selling domain names is not my main
    > > business. Just another way to invest money and make additional income.
    > >
    > > Looking forward to do business with you.
    > >
    > > Best regards,
    > > Paul Hansen Ph.D.
    > > CEO
    > > DIT Solutions
    > >
    > >
    ============================================================================
    > > NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
    > > information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
    > > viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
    > > unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
    > > message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the
    message
    > > and deleting it from your computer.
    Find out about the Spanish courses Bueno Entonces Review and Rocket Spanish Review. Dating site for people who are HIV Positive. Register a domain at Ultra Domains. Meet Singles at True Singles. Learn Spanish easily 123 Spanish.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    323
    I thought these scammers always used European names, but I got a nice one this morning:

    -----

    Hello,

    Please send me price for your domain.

    We are very interested in this name.

    Did you get offers from other people already?

    Our company develops client-server systems (Delphi / Interbase), so
    investing in domain names is not my main business.

    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Best regards,
    Masafumi Herosuki, Ph. D.
    President
    Opera Solutions Ltd.

    -----

    They must have opened an Asian branch office! :-)

    (BTW, the allfordomains guys are actually Russian, which explains why an earlier poster saw them using a name that is an insult in Russian.)

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Do what I do, file a complaint with his hosting company, where he is hosting these fake forums....

    He is stupid enough to use US Based hosting companies, and this is clear a spam / scam type of setup. I have already filed a formal complaint with the FTC as well.

    As a fellow hosting company, I can tell you if we saw this activity, his websites would be taken off line. :-)

    To get his hosting company contact info, use dnsstuff.com to get the IP address of the site, and then do a whois lookup on the IP, you will find the email address to file the complaint with. :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  

Sponsors

DomainState.com
Advertise   |   Contact Us   |   Domain Glossary   |   Domain Links   |   Domain Tools   |   FAQ   |   Members   |   Terms   |   RSS   |   Link To Us
Other Related Trellian Services:
Above Domain Parking Manager   |   Free Search Toolbar   |   Free Webpage Builder   |   Keyword Research   |   Search Engine Submission   |   SEO Tools
Copyright © 2002    DomainState.com a Trellian Company