DomainState.com - News & Views
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Chat Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home  
Domain Tools and Links: Tools  
View New Posts  
DomainState.com - News & Views : Powered by vBulletin DomainState.com - News & Views > News > Google acquires AdSense.com
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
GeorgeK
TheBest.com

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2978

Transaction Feedback: (0)
Pos: 0%
Neg: 0%

Google acquires AdSense.com

Google has just acquired the domain name AdSense.com in the past week:

http://www.domaintools.com/adsense.com

It used to be owned by a company in Oregon called "AdSense Consulting" for many years (before Google launched its AdSense system). The Google-cached page of www.adsense.com read at the bottom:

"If you think you can get rich quick placing other people's ads on your site or blog, please contact Google who has taken and used our business name without permission or compensation."

I imagine Google paid a big price to acquire the domain.

__________________
George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 11-01-2006 05:46 PM
GeorgeK is offline Click Here to See the Profile for GeorgeK Click here to Send GeorgeK a Private Message Visit GeorgeK's homepage! Find more posts by GeorgeK Add GeorgeK to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
GeorgeK
TheBest.com

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2978

Transaction Feedback: (0)
Pos: 0%
Neg: 0%

I found this story that shows that the prior owners sold it in 2005 through a private broker:

http://wired.com/news/technology/in...l?tw=wn_index_6

to an "undisclosed buyer". It turns out Google was indeed the buyer.

Rule of thumb: Always find out who the true buyer is!

__________________
George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 11-01-2006 05:57 PM
GeorgeK is offline Click Here to See the Profile for GeorgeK Click here to Send GeorgeK a Private Message Visit GeorgeK's homepage! Find more posts by GeorgeK Add GeorgeK to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Aero
Senior Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: west coast
Posts: 707

Transaction Feedback: (1)
Pos: 100%
Neg: 0%

quote:
Originally posted by GeorgeK
Rule of thumb: Always find out who the true buyer is!

Most of the time, easier said than done.

Eitherway, thanks for the info. on the sale.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 11-01-2006 06:00 PM
Aero is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Aero Click here to Send Aero a Private Message Find more posts by Aero Add Aero to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
GeorgeK
TheBest.com

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2978

Transaction Feedback: (0)
Pos: 0%
Neg: 0%

The prior owners moved to www.adsense2.com where it still reads:

"If you think you can get rich quick placing other people's ads on your site or blog, please contact Google who has taken and used our business name without permission or compensation."

Ouch, they're going to be feeling pain today, the pain of lost opportunity.

__________________
George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 11-01-2006 06:07 PM
GeorgeK is offline Click Here to See the Profile for GeorgeK Click here to Send GeorgeK a Private Message Visit GeorgeK's homepage! Find more posts by GeorgeK Add GeorgeK to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
safesys
Senior Member

Registered: Sep 2002
Location: Wales (UK)
Posts: 25507

Transaction Feedback: (2)
Pos: 100%
Neg: 0%

I think anyone selling adsense.com in 2005 is going to have a glimmer that the name is on its way to google either directly or indirectly over the coming years.

__________________
When using google for counts - use double quotes for usage counts for multiword terms and set "match type" to "exact" for all search volume lookups. Click here for more info

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 11-01-2006 06:11 PM
safesys is offline Click Here to See the Profile for safesys Click here to Send safesys a Private Message Find more posts by safesys Add safesys to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
You may not delete your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is OFF
 

Like what you see? Don't keep it to yourself - click here to tell a friend!
 
Warning: Appraisal Scam and Hoax Spam
All domainers should be aware that there is a long running scam in operation where domain owners are contacted by a supposedly interested party who requires them to perform some kind of paid service - usually an appraisal - prior to completion of the sale. This is a scam designed purely and simply to get you to pay for the service. Further details are availabe here.

Note that in the past they have tried to discredit this site and the warning we are giving by sending out fake spam pretending to be from ourselves.


Please Note:
Domainstate.com does not and cannot vouch for the authenticity of any item listed for sale on this site. We advise anyone considering buying a domain name, product or service to ensure the seller has legitimate rights. If unsure on how to do this, please seek legal advice.

If anyone has reasonable grounds to suspect foul play, please notify the moderators/admins at this site with full details.

Advice given on this site is only the opinion of the poster and should not be treated as a replacement for legal or professional advice.

We reserve the right to remove domains that are listed here that we consider - in our sole discretion - to have no legitimate reason for their registration other than to trade off the goodwill of a third party.

If you believe a domain listed for sale at DomainState.com infringes a mark in which you have enforceable rights, please supply details including the mark, the registration number, the register it is held on and any other information that supports your claim for review by the administration.

< Contact Us - DomainState.com >

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2002, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.