|
-
Someone call the company.
-
Originally posted by subg
Someone call the company.
The old phone number no longer works. Maybe postal mail would get through.
Teske, Don dwt@RAVEN.COM
RAVEN Computer Systems, Inc.
PO Box 44309
Minneapolis, MN 55344
US
(612) 906-9976 fax: (612) 906-9977
-
My gut feeling is the business probably doesn't exist any more.
-
Originally posted by fizz
That's a clever switch from the admin contact e-mail from the original dwt@RAVEN.COM to an easily acquired free yahoo addy don_teske@yahoo.com, to give some semblance of legitimacy.
Yes,
I would bet it was done via social engineering through winternet.com (the host) to get access to dwt@raven.com.
Winternet.com looks like a small host and their site doesn't even resolve without the www. suggesting they probably aren't very up with things.
-
That's interesting snoopy - some guy claiming to be Don Teske probably phoned them and said he's getting plenty of pesky spam messages (What - you're getting them too?!) at dwt@RAVEN.COM and would they be kind enough to manually change the addy in their system to his new one don_teske@yahoo.com because he can't do it right now because his computer got a virus in the e-mail too.
-
I think this is the guy:
Donald W Teske ---> dwt
17869 Cascade Dr
Eden Prairie, MN 55347-2148
(952) 906-9975
http://www.whitepages.com/10001/sear...=9&more_info=1
Last edited by mxdominios; 07-17-2007 at 02:59 PM.
James Watson = Nicolaus Copernicus
Our governments, our universities, our media have put chains on our mind no different and no less oppressive than the Catholic Church of Copernicus's day
-
Thanks, certainly sounds like him, the number is only different by the end number to the whois phone no's.
-
James Watson = Nicolaus Copernicus
Our governments, our universities, our media have put chains on our mind no different and no less oppressive than the Catholic Church of Copernicus's day
-
In the case of raven.com the whois info was transparent and none of the previous owners contacted us complaining that the domain was hijacked. Many domains are listed and sold through Sedo after being picked up by the seller in a private deal so there was nothing so there was nothing out of the ordinary in the eyes of our transfer team.
This thread was just brought to my attention. I am a computer tech who works for Deb Teske, the actual owner of raven.com. Raven.com was originally registered and set up by her late husband.
I was the one called out on 7/9/07 to help figure out why her email (which was @raven.com) had mysteriously stopped working. When I arrived I discovered that it appeared that raven.com had been stolen and turned into a generic "cybersquatting" site.
Unfortunately, there was fairly little that I could do about it. I am primarily a computer tech, dealing with desktops and networks. I've registered domains before and dealt with that area a bit, but I've never had to deal with anything like this. Also, since the domain was set up by her late husband, she could not find me any documentation on who the domain was actually registered with, so frankly I was at a loss as to who we should even contact.
This is quite outside of my experience. I've never had to deal with contesting ownership of a domain, nor have I had to deal in any way with a domain where the user did not have the login and password for a networksolutions (or similar) account for me to work with.
I found as much information as I could, and informed her to speak with a lawyer who specializes in internet related issues.
The key point, however, is this:
The real owner of raven.com (Deb Teske, my client) did not sell the site, nor did she receive any money for it, willingly or unwillingly. It was stolen from her.
Since I am quite out of my depth here, I would appreciate any information that could point me in the right direction, so I can help her get this issue fixed.
- Adrian Preston
Technical Reinforcements
612-720-0233
-
That's interesting snoopy - some guy claiming to be Don Teske probably phoned them and said he's getting plenty of pesky spam messages (What - you're getting them too?!) at dwt@RAVEN.COM and would they be kind enough to manually change the addy in their system to his new one don_teske@yahoo.com because he can't do it right now because his computer got a virus in the e-mail too.
If anyone claiming to be Don Teske said anything recently, then there is fraud happening, because Don Teske is no longer alive. He died several years ago, and his wife keeps the domain for herself and their children.
-
Thanks maekern,
I'm going to give you a call to get some more details from you.
Jay
jay@sedo.com
Customer Care :: Support.Sedo.com
-
When all else fails, UDRP!
If the new owner gets wind of this thread, he may sell right away.
-
All the best Adrian, Deb and Jay in the task of resolving this.
-
An incident like this reinforces our inevitable mortality and the value of a system as raised by Cranky http://www.domainstate.com/showthrea...threadid=73098
-
"This is the story of a great American. His name was Don Teske, and he passed away on July 4, which seems fitting for a hero. He was never elected President of the United States. No, he did not invent a cure for some treacherous disease. And he was never the CEO of a Fortune 500 company. Don was a husband, a father, and a patriot. He had a steadfast commitment to his family, and was an usher and greeter at his church. Even after his health started to fail, Don continued to work at the church, giving everyone a hug and a smile, lifting the spirits of all that met him. That’s my idea of a hero – someone that cares about people they don’t even know, and brings sunshine to those experiencing rain.
Two weeks before he passed away, one of Don’s friends ask him how he felt, knowing he was nearing the end of his time with the living. Don thought about it, and then responded, “I’m blessed if I stay, and I’m blessed if I go”. Very simple…very true.
Have a blessed month, and the next time you are having a tough day just remember what Don said – you’re blessed if you stay and you’re blessed if you go. "
http://www.godfatherlv.com/The%20God...ust%202003.htm
James Watson = Nicolaus Copernicus
Our governments, our universities, our media have put chains on our mind no different and no less oppressive than the Catholic Church of Copernicus's day
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules
|
|
|