+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 49
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,054

    Exclamation Verizon sues Navigation Catalyst Systems

    Verizon has sued Navigation Catalyst Systems:

    http://dockets.justia.com/docket/cou...ase_id-413394/

    I've not downloaded the statement of claim yet, but if someone does, please post a link to it (no need for folks to pay the PACER fees more than once).
    George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    2,334
    What are these companies:

    Navigation Catalyst Systems, Inc. and Basic Fusion, Inc.

    What kind of domains they own?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,054
    http://www.navigationcatalyst.com/about/about.php

    They own a lot of typo domains, that were figured out by using the new.net plugin.
    George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,313
    They are in California.

    I was told Basic fusion is a GoDaddy reseller account they own.

    They are pretty much screwed. They own tons of hard core TM's. These days you can't do that in the US. Not good press for avoiding the Snow bill.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,054
    I took a few minutes to download the docket in this case, and posted the relevant materials at:

    http://www.loffs.org/verizon-v-navcatsys-et-al/

    Exhibit 7 is pretty amazing.
    George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Wales (UK)
    Posts
    24,762
    wow - and people wonder why the powers that be are gunning for domainers.
    When using google for counts - use double quotes for usage counts for multiword terms and set "match type" to "exact" for all search volume lookups. Click here for more info

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,054
    Does anyone know how many domains Navigation Catalyst Systems owns in total? I would think they are one of the largest domain name registrants in the world.
    George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Behind your curtains
    Posts
    4,788
    Originally posted by GeorgeK
    I took a few minutes to download the docket in this case, and posted the relevant materials at:

    http://www.loffs.org/verizon-v-navcatsys-et-al/

    Exhibit 7 is pretty amazing.
    there is so much crap in there it's unbelievable. Notice no microsoft domains though

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,054
    Originally posted by subg
    I was told Basic fusion is a GoDaddy reseller account they own.
    Paragraph 8 of the complaint alleges that Basic Fusion is an ICANN-accredited registrar, and this appears to be true given they appear at:

    http://www.internic.net/registrars/registrar-813.html

    Registrar Contact Information

    Basic Fusion, Inc.
    2101 Rosecrans Avenue Suite 2000 El Segundo, California 90245
    United States
    1-310-647-6000
    info@basicfusion.com
    Although the WHOIS for basicfusion.com currently shows a NYC address:

    http://whois.domaintools.com/basicfusion.com

    and the IP address that the website is hosted on is 216.108.243.26, owned by Vendare Media Group, which appears to have renamed itself to Connexus:

    http://www.vendaregroup.com/
    http://www.connexuscorp.com/

    Some of Navigation Catalyst's generic domains can be seen at:

    http://www.firstlook.com/domain-portfolio

    Our large portfolio of highly targeted domains reaches over 60 million users each month, connecting them with relevant information and providers. All of the traffic to our properties is organic; the vast majority coming from users bypassing a search engine and typing the URL directly into the address bar.
    With that much traffic, that's a lot of potential $$$$ that Verizon can go after if they are successful in their lawsuit.

    All the examples I checked used *.dnsnameserver.org nameservers, which according to www.dailychanges.com has 965,861 domains using those nameservers. It's unclear how many of those names are owned by Navigation Catalyst Systems, though, since they apparently offer domain parking to others:

    http://www.firstlook.com/domain-parking
    George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,313
    Thanks George.

    Exhibit 7 is amazing.

    Seems everyone else at their level has been cleaning up for the past year. What were they thinking.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,054
    Originally posted by Rob
    there is so much crap in there it's unbelievable. Notice no microsoft domains though
    Scroll down to the letter "X", where XBOX typos are featured.

    They're only giving one example per letter of the alphabet, as stated in paragraph 47 of the complaint (page 12):

    Plaintiffs are informed and believe and on that basis allege that many of Defendants' Domain Names are confusingly similar to famous or distinctive trademarks owned by others. ("Confusingly Similar Domain Names"). A list detailing some of the Confusingly Similiar Domain Names is attached to this Complaint is attached to this Complaint as Exhibit 5. Notwithstanding that Defendant has targeted nearly every single famous trademark in existence, for the sake of brevity the list of Exhibit 7 details only one famous trademark for each letter of the alphabet.
    (emphasis added) Note they mention Exhibit 5 by mistake, as they likely cut/pasted much of the text of this complaint from other similar complaints, for example, paragraph 57 in the complaint of the recent Neiman Marcus v. Ultra RPM case:

    http://www.loffs.org/neimanmarcus-v-ultrarpm/

    that got settled.
    George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,936
    Originally posted by GeorgeK
    Exhibit 7 is pretty amazing.
    Dayum!
    Your domains are never completely worthless. They can always be used as a bad example.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Behind your curtains
    Posts
    4,788
    Thanks George - I should have read closer. It does look like curtains for this outfit.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,054
    They should pray that they don't own any Vulcan Golf or Bo Jackson typos, given the aggressiveness in that case:

    http://news.justia.com/cases/feature...v03371/210005/
    http://www.domainstate.com/showthrea...threadid=78752
    George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,054
    With all those alleged Disney typos, one day Disney is going to wake up and go after a lot of people.

    What's funny is that with T.R.A.F.F.I.C. coming up in a few weeks:

    http://www.targetedtraffic.com/orlando_show.html

    Disney could personally serve some cybersquatters, if they attend the show, right in their hotel, which is owned by Disney,

    http://www.register123.com/event/pro...D=0x4852047160
    George Kirikos - (416) 588-0269

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  

Diamond Sponsor

Platinum Sponsors

Above Domain Parking Manager
Addme.com SEO Tools
URL Trends Domain Valuation Reports


 
DomainState.com
Advertise   |   Contact Us   |   Domain Glossary   |   Domain Links   |   Domain Tools   |   FAQ   |   Members   |   Terms
Other Related Trellian Services:
Above Domain Parking Manager   |   Free Search Toolbar   |   Free Webpage Builder   |   Keyword Research   |   Search Engine Submission   |   SEO Tools
Copyright © 2002 - 2010 DomainState.com a Trellian Company